A Very Warm Welcome to the Employability Discussion

Hello and welcome to you all :smiley:

My name is Barry and I have the privilege of moderating this forum. I am the managing director of Walking Among Giants Limited - a leading management and training consultancy based in the West Midlands, U.K. I am also an associate lecturer and practice tutor for the Open Univeristy (UK) and a visiting lecturer and module writer for the University of Wolverhampton (UK). I am driven by a passion to affect the lives of individuals, groups and communities through the creation of high quality learning opportunities that lends themselves towards supporting sustained employment and economic social and spiritual prosperity.

Please take a moment to introduce yourselves and to perhaps outline your motivations for participating in this discussion.

I look forward to getting to know you all over the coming weeks.

Very best wishes

Barry

1 Like

I am Dr Philipa Idogho, a former Rector/President of a higher institution in Nigeria known as Auchi Polytechnic from 2008 to 2016, and now with the University of Abuja. My motivations are outlined below:

1. I have on three occasions participated and presented papers at the PCF in India, Cambridge and Nigeria and so I have passion for it.
  2. I was head of an institution that yearly produced graduates into the labour market where only 10% probably got employed.
  3. I want at this forum to examine the gaps and look at possible solutions.
2 Likes

Many thanks for your introduction Philipa. I look forward to learning from your experience over the coming weeks. The first discussion thread will be posted tomorrow (Sunday evening GMT.)

Very best wishes

Barry

I am Neerja Sood, Assistant Professor, School of Health Sciences, Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi, India

1 Like

Welcome Neerja. Thanks for the introduction. I look forward to reading and engaging with your contributions during the coming weeks.

Very best wishes

Barry